the job hunting in doha

As soon I received my visit visa extension, I filled my resignation in the last company that I worked with. It was not easy filling the said resignation. It was a hard decision I had to make. I still love what I was doing in my previous company. But I have to follow my parent’s decision.I was really having a hard time deciding on it but I cling on the last word that God has given me and that verse is :

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother” (this is the first commandment with a promise), “that it may go well with you and that you may live long in the land.~Ephesians 6:1-3 ESV

Even though the decision from the management in my previous company was to make my resignation as AWOL, but then by the grace of God, the decision turned out to be removed and instead made it as voluntary resignation, in return for my one month salary being waived for the 30 days noticed,since I haven’t signed a regularization letter that mentioned the 30 days notice, all I have was the contract when I am on my 6 months probationary days. So when I get the chance to go back to Manila, I will be personally filling the clearance. I praise God for extending his hands and delivering me again in this kind of situation. I truly cherished my stay in my former company, the friendship and most of all the things I learned and shared to them means a lot to me, it gave me the courage and strong desire to share what I have learned because whatever they will be achieving in the future, reflects how I shared what I learned and all thanks to God for giving me the wisdom and grace to share my blessings to others.

After the said resignation, I started doing the job hunting. I updated my resume and everyday I surf the following websites for my job hunting here in qatar:

1. http://www.bayt.com
2. http://www.gulf-times.com
3. http://www.gulfjobsmarket.com
4. http://www.gulftalent.com
5. http://www.qatarliving.com
6. http://www.dubbizle.com
7. http://www.linkedIn.com

So everyday I opened those websites to search and hunt for job available in my field. There are times when there are no openings for my position, so it was really hard for me to apply here, since my field is in software but particularly in the field of testing for software. Day by day I waited for a phone call or an email that will change my life.

Then, one day I received my first interview for the company a, they asked me if I am ready for an interview with a project manager. So I replied to the Hr, by saying yes I am. After the schedule was set, I prayed thankfully that I have received this chance and let His will be done on this. I told my dad that I had my interview already and my dad was more anxious and nervous than me.When the interview date and time arrived, my dad drove me on the said office of company a, then I went inside together with my dad, but my dad was left in the receiving area. I had an interview with the project manager, he made some tests and he had mentioned that the offered position is on Quality Management Document Controller, and that struck me, I have no idea what that job requires. He said I had passed the exam and interview but when he asked for my asking salary, that’s where the problem comes.He said he can’t offer that, but he will give a feedback when he spoke with the management. The project manager led me outside of the interview room, then shake hands with my dad, saying to my dad you have an intelligent daughter and you raised her well. Wow, the best compliment that a dad could have! Praise God for this interview. To cut the story short, we didn’t agree with the job offer and the position doesn’t suite me either. So I prayed to God and hold on to his last word.

Company b, called me for another interview but it is far from Doha and it is located in Al Khor. So the day of the interview came, my dad had drove me once again it is around 30-45 minutes by car, it was around 45 degrees that time when I applied. It was a school in that area. I had the said interview and explained to them my tasks from previous company. The typical questions during interviews. When asked for the asking salary, they said they can’t give it but they will send feedback once I have been selected. After a week, I received a call again from them telling me that I shall be having the final interview and my dad drove me again to Al khor. Thank God I have my dad to send me to Al khor. I have passed the second interview and the job offer was sent to me later that week. The only catch, is that they are not providing the work visa and they don’t have any other offer besides from the salary. But then I gave it up and followed my dad’s advise. I praise God for the heart of patience that He had given me.

Sometimes I stumbled in my faith in HIM, and asked was I really called to work here? But then I clinged to the word he had given me when I asked Him if do I really need to go to Doha.He gave me this verse:

“And Ruth the Moabite said to Naomi, “Let me go to the fields and pick up the leftover grain behind anyone in whose eyes I find favor.”Naomi said to her, “Go ahead, my daughter.” ~Ruth 2:2-3

This word keeps me forward even if I am not seeing what is ahead of me, I just trusted Him and I know He is in control of my career. There are three companies that I had interviewed but never came back to me, they are company c,d,and e. Company c never responded to my inquiry for my application. Company d, said the management preferred a guy. Company e, had said to me, that you are a bit over qualified for this position. They prefer the right course for the said position. With all this rejections from this companies, I had no other thoughts but to kneel down and ask for grace and heart of acceptance of things I cannot control.

One day I received a call from a female HR, asking me to attend an interview, telling me if I am available on the said date. I immediately answered ,yes I am available and asked for her to send me the email and location and the position they were hiring. So when I received the said email, I was in awe when I saw the location and position. It was what I have been praying for, the west bay area. The area in doha where the place looks like fort bonifacio global city. So I told my dad about it and he was smiling telling me are you really sure you can do the said position. So I told him, let see and try it. So I had an interview with a general manager, and the questions are toughed. He asked me about SAP,POS,and Encryption, PKI, and ID systems. Luckily I have had experienced in MANILA with the said questions he asked and I happened to answer all his question. He said to me, that there will be a call from another interviewer and just wait for it. So off I went out of the said office. I waited for the said next interview, then the EID came. All offices are on a one week holiday. So I waited patiently, until one day I received a call from one guy. He asked about SDLC,PMP, and other stuff. He said, are you willing to be trained in XXXX? I said to him, if I have a working visa, I am willing. He said definitely, we will be giving you one. That concludes our conversation. After another week, I received an email from the HR stating that the job offer is now ready for me. I received it that day and was really happy because God answered my prayer and the answered is more than I asked for and there’s a bonus training for me.

But then I asked for the grace of God if it his will for me to have the said job because I am not confident enough with my skills. So I prayed and had my quite time and received his verse:

Thanksgiving

4 I always thank my God for you because of his grace given you in Christ Jesus. 5 For in him you have been enriched in every way—with all kinds of speech and with all knowledge— 6 God thus confirming our testimony about Christ among you. 7 Therefore you do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed. 8 He will also keep you firm to the end, so that you will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 God is faithful, who has called you into fellowship with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.~1 Corinthians 1:4-9

I am really grateful for this opportunity that God has given me. Truly He is a good promise keeper. When at times we feel that God is not there, we are wrong. He never left us and he will never forsake us. Always remember, He keeps His children. Even if there are times when we really can’t understand we just need to obey and have faith.He will surely delivers us according to His will.

To God be the Glory!

-Ally

Leave a Reply

