grace giving vs tithing

Recently I have been watching topics about mutual funds,stock marketing,insurance and all about investments. They all answered my inquiries on how shall I invest my money and where to invest my money. After I watch an episode in peso and sense where Bo Sanchez was his guest, I saw a youtube video entitled “Gift of Giving”, it’s from Victory Greenhills and the preacher of that is Chinkee Tan. I really have no idea who he is,but I click on the link and watched it.

After watching it, God reminded me about tithing and grace giving. First of all, as per the preaching of Chinkee, he mentioned tithing is returning a portion which is the tenth of all our income to the Lord. This tithe is not an offering and it’s not giving but you are return what is due to the Lord.  So this means if you tithe you are a generous giver? No, you are just giving what is due to the Lord. A generous giver is the one who can give on top of the tithing. I also heard from a former pastor Jun in Victory Fort, he call it grace giving because you give under God’s grace.

The reason why we don’t reap is because we do not sow and if you have a need you sow a seed.- Chinkee Tan

Chinkee discussed the seven steps to Reaping or Harvesting:

1. Sow proportionally – God looks at the proportion not on the portion.

“Truly I tell you,” he said, “this poor widow has put in more than all the others. All these people gave their gifts out of their wealth; but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.”- Luke 21:3-4

2. Sow Faithfully– Giving is an issue of faith

  ” And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”- Hebrews 11:6

3. Sow Generously – Give and it will be given unto you

“Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”- Luke 6:38

4. Sow Cheerfully– You should feel Glad when you give and not bad

 “Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” – 2 Corinthians 9:7

5. Sow wisely– Plant seed in a fertile soil.

6. Sow sacrificially- Give more than you can afford.

“And now, brothers and sisters, we want you to know about the grace that God has given the Macedonian churches. 2 In the midst of a very severe trial, their overflowing joy and their extreme poverty welled up in rich generosity. 3 For I testify that they gave as much as they were able, and even beyond their ability. Entirely on their own,- 2 Corinthian 8:1-3

7. Sow Decisively – Determine what God wants you to give to Him.

After watching the said preaching, it all opened my eyes, where should be my priority investment, and God has said to me to invest in His kingdom. I’m not saying I won’t invest in stocks or other form of earthly investments but  I must invest first in God then I know for a fact that all this things will follow. Aside from that I admit , on the part of grace giving I still need EGR.. aka Extra Grace Required. But God already told me that ,you are faithful in tithing now it’s time to be more grace giver.

When pastor chinkee shared his testimony about worrying about his account money because  the payment requires more amount than his account can offer, then a pastor told him that he must give his remaining amount to anyone, then the reaction of pastor chinkee, was like “don’t joke things like that”, then immediately the pastor told him he will have nothing to worry about. The moment pastor chinkee said this ” When worry ends,Faith Begins”, it really hit me hard. I admit I worry a lot and resort to what I can do and not what God can do for me. So from now on, I will believe and have faith in God that my finances will never cease because He is the provider and the giver. He gave me first that’s why I can give generously.

To God be the Glory!

By the way here’s the link to the preaching of pastor chinkee tan:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy5eX8ytvdY

~♣ally♣~

Leave a Reply

