prisintaran

“Prisintar” –  is a tradition of which a guy together with his parents asks for the hand of the girl to be his bride.

December 26, 2014

This was the date that my fiance told me that he will ask permission from my family for my hand in marriage.

Early that morning, my uncle alex and aunt cathy helped me in going to the market to buy shrimps and seafood stuffs. Although I have severe allergic reaction to shrimp we still bought it because Jap’s favorite food is shrimp. After we bought all the needed stuff for cooking, we went home to my grannies house and prepared food. My aunt jing and aunt susan together with aunt cathy prepared the food to be serve later for the “prisintaran”.

At around 12nn I received sms from jap that they are in the school near to our house. So I hurriedly went to fetch them together with my uncle alex and together we all went to our home. I saw jap already, and I was like already excited to what will happen.

When we reached our destination, I saw jap’s mom,dad and youngest sister and niece. The only missing in their family is jap’s eldest sister because she will come home during our wedding day. So when they went inside my grannies house, they had bought foods. My eyes grew bigger seeing “palabok”, yes I miss this filipino food. So together with jap and his family we ate together.

After eating we went to our porch, and jap and I seat there. We both have no idea what will happens next and here’s the actual snippet of our conversations:

Me to Jap: Bhe ano ginigibo sa arog kaini? ( what should we do now?)

Jap: Dai ko daw aram bhe, first time ko lang ini. ( I don’t know this is my first time to do this)

Me: Ako din. First time ko din ito. ( me too.)

So to cut the story short, our parents talk about the dates and gave their blessings because they say we are old enough to get married. It was a fun meet up for both sides since, we all be seeing each other again in our big day.

Here’s a picture of our “prisintaran”

prisintaran
Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man.  The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman, ‘ for she was taken out of man.”  For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.- Genesis 2:22-24

Now we can start planning for our suppliers 🙂

~♣ally♣~

Leave a Reply

