prayer and fasting 2015

I started prayer and fasting a bit late from the schedule, but still as the saying goes better late than never.

Honor God’s Name

“You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes his name in vain”. -Deuteronomy 5:11

We should not misuse God’s name in everything but instead we must honor His name in everything that we are doing. When we do this,God promise to bring blessings as mentioned in Exodus 20:24. I remember a verse that says out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks(Matthew 12:34), it was from this verse that whatever we speak it comes from the inner depth of our hearts. In order to fully honor God’s name, we need to consider Him as the head in all times. We must put off falsehood and speak only the truth. We should not let unwholesome talk come out but instead only the needed. We must also free ourselves from anger, malice,rage,slander and filty languages including lie. For this are detestable and can cause in dishonoring God’s name, either directly or indirectly.

Honor God with our Worship

“Those who sacrifice thank offerings honor me, and to the blameless I will show my salvation.”-Psalm 50:23

This part of the praying and fasting, reminded me that in everything that we do, it is consider as an act of worship to Him. As the Psalm 50:23, thanks offering here signifys our act of worship to Him. God wants a true worshiper  that will worship Him in spirit in truth. No matter what our situations are God loves to see us worships Him despite the ups and downs in our life. I remember a book I read, “if you know how to worry, then you know how to meditate”. So instead of worrying, turn that worshiping. You will see more God’s point of view when you worship but man’s point of view when you worry. Make a list of God’s past answers to your queries. You will be amazed on how you and God together, went through all those hurdles in your life. He is a promise keeper, when He said he will be with you, believe and start acting in faith that He who promised will give this at his perfect timing!

Honor God with your Wealth

Honor the LORD with your wealth and with the firstfruits of all your produce; then your barns will be filled with plenty, and your vats will be bursting with wine.

-Proverbs 3:9,10

I remember God’s promise to me before 2014 started, that it will be a year of blessings. I didn’t know how it will happen but I started trusting him and just doing what He wanted me to do. There where ups and downs in my finances but God’s promise in Malachi 3:10 is what I kept.I can consider that my finances are blessed not because I have more or little but because I can use what I have to bless other people. The joy in helping and giving back what is due Him is far more better than acquiring all the money in the world. It’s pure sheer of joy on my end that God graciously inculcated in my heart and thought me how to give because of this very simple concept : He gave me first, therefore I can give others .

Honor God with our Bodies

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.-1 Corinthians 6:19,20

This is the most crucial part of every believers. Our body is the temple of God, therefore what you do to your body is an act of Honoring God. So if you do things to your body against His will then you dishonor Him. We often say that this is our body,but let me remind you including me, that this body is where the holy spirit resides so use it for His glory and not for your own glory.

Honor God with our Service

As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies—in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. . . .-1 Peter 4:10,11

We have God given talent, mine is on multimedia and technical stuffs and even writing blogs that will encourage and speak of His goodness. So cultivate it and pray for it. Don’t hide it because remember the story of the parables of talents, each servants where given specific talents, and one hid it. The master was angry because of what his servant done, instead of growing it to multiply what he has, he hid it. Let us be reminded that what talents we have are specifically designed for us to do His will. I remember the time I am writing my blog : “Finding Every Nation in the Heart of Doha”, I wrote it for the purpose  of testifying how I got and returned to my home church. It was used incredibly by God to whatever purpose He has. My blog may not be on the most visited site. But God has a unique way of reaching to people and one way God used me, up and until now is through blogging.

So this prayer and fasting 2015 was really a sweet return and reconciliation of our relationship. It’s not the answer that we will have in our faith goals but our renewed and stronger relationship and communication to our creator will be the best highlight of our fasting.

Guys, please cover us in prayer together with my fiancee Jap, for the preparation, provision and including completion in every areas of our marriage this October 2015.

~♣ally♣~

2 thoughts on “prayer and fasting 2015

Leave a Reply

